Scripps Blogs

HSJW students HSJW students

Apply for Fall of 2017

Apply online today

Freedom of Information: the Right to Know

May 3rd is World Press Freedom Day, when various media organizations call attention to issues related to press freedom issues.

The U.S. State Department’s website (america.gov) is hosting a webchat with journalists:

On May 3, 2010, journalists, citizens, and governments around the globe will commemorate World Press Freedom Day. On this important day, designated by the U.N. General Assembly, we celebrate Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and mark the anniversary of the Declaration of Windhoek.

The U.S. Department of State invites you to join the discussion in live webchats with journalist and Columbia Graduate School of Journalism professor Judith Matloff (in English, on May 3 at 14:00 GMT/10 a.m. EDT) and journalist, trainer and former Radio France Internationale (RFI) producer Diane Seligsohn (in French, May 3 at 10:00 GMT/6 a.m. EDT). We welcome your questions and thoughts on the struggle for freedom of expression and independent media in countries worldwide.

Link to page and webchat

Reporters Without Borders takes this occasion to post its bottom-40 list:

from Reporters Without Borders

From the United Nations’ UNESCO website:

from UNESCO

May 3, 2010

Recent Posts

Archives

Content by tag