Scripps Blogs

HSJW students HSJW students

Apply for Fall of 2019

Apply online today

Millward receives state-level First Amendment Award

Senior journalism major Evan Millward has been named this year’s recipient of Central Ohio Society of Professional Journalists Pro Chapter’s First Amendment Award.

[NOTE: revised April 20, 2011]

OU SPJ adviser Cary Frith nominated Evan for his “commitment to protecting student journalists’ rights and leadership role in creating the first Ohio Sunshine Summit conference.”

Frith: “Evan Millward came up with the idea for the Ohio Sunshine Summit because he was frustrated by the continued lack of access to meetings and buildings on our campus, as well as attempts to stall or thwart FOIA requests. He reached out to SPJ student chapter leaders around the state and found out that their student media had faced similar problems. It was an incredible day with students from Miami, OSU, Toledo, Kent, Cincinnati, and Marshall in attendance.”

Previous winners:

April 18, 2011

Recent Posts


Content by tag