Scripps Blogs

HSJW students HSJW students

Apply for Fall of 2019

Apply online today

JSchool’s faculty, students thrive at AEJMC 2011

Our school’s faculty, graduate and undergraduate students were recognized for their research and journalistic work at the recently concluded Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) meeting in St. Louis, Missouri.

AEJMC 2011
Professors Yusuf Kalyango (Ohio), Peddiboyina Vijayalakshmi (India), Syed Ashraf (Pakistan), Hans Meyer (Ohio), and Bob Stewart (Ohio), standing in front of Vijayalakshmi’s poster about her research on Indian teens’ use of social media.

Professor Michael Sweeney, the JSchool’s graduate director, wrote in a recent blog post about our graduate students who presented at the conference. In addition to the graduate students, several faculty presented their research on topics ranging from citizen journalists to libel issues surrounding the Civil Rights movement. Two undergraduates, Yang Chu and Alexandra Stuckey, were recognized for their international reporting.

Several international scholars who were taking part in the JSchool’s “Study of the United States Institute“ also presented research during the conference.

This slideshow offers a glimpse of the conference:

Faculty Presentations and Awards:

Marilyn Greenwald, Professor. Mary Ann Yodelis Smith Award for Feminist Scholarship Recipient.

Graduate student papers:

The organization plans to celebrate its 100th anniversary next year at the 2012 conference, to be held in Chicago.

*Pronin was an undergraduate journalism student in the Honors Tutorial College at Ohio University.

posted in: faculty, graduate, research
August 16, 2011

Recent Posts


Content by tag