HSJW students HSJW students

Apply for Fall of 2019

Apply online today

Historians recognize Washburn with Kobre Award

(Seattle, Washington) -- The American Journalism Historians Association recently honored Patrick Washburn with the prestigious lifetime Kobre Award at its 28th annual meeting in Seattle in recognition of his exemplary achievements in journalism history.

Washburn, a former AJHA president, is a professor in the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University, where he has been on the faculty since 1984, and was assistant director of the school from 1989 to 2000. Washburn has been an active AJHA member for more than 20 years. Along with serving as president in 2002-2003, he has been a member of the board of directors, chair of the research committee, and a member of numerous other committees. He has edited Journalism History since 2001 and served as co-editor of Media History Monographs from 1997 to 2000.

David Abrahamson of Northwestern University nominated Washburn for the award and said that he represents “the best and most worthy ideals of the professional calling.” He praised Washburn’s scholarship on the Black Press as “illuminating” and said that the work “will continue to open up useful avenues of inquiry for important further research.”

AJHA president Tamara Baldwin said that Washburn “exemplifies the teacher-scholar model that others of us strive for” and that he has “had such an impact on the study of journalism history through his own research and his fostering of the research of countless students over the years.”

Throughout his teaching career, Washburn has chaired 25 dissertations and 59 theses. Nine of these projects have become published books. “Pat is a very careful historian. He teaches his students to be excruciating careful with facts and the arguments they build from those facts,” said Michael Sweeney, a former AJHA president, who was a doctoral student of Washburn’s and who has published eight books.

David Davies, chair of the AJHA Awards Committee that selected Washburn, said the competition for the annual award is always quite high, given the high standards of the award. “Pat represents exactly the kind of recipient the award is intended to honor -- a faculty member whose lifetime of achievement has benefited the profession of media history as a whole.”

Washburn has written two history books and co-authored a third and received the inaugural Tankard Book Award in 2007 for the best book published in the previous year by an Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication member. He has also spoken about the history of the black press at the Smithsonian and the National World War II Museum as well as at numerous universities. Washburn has also served as chair of the AEJMC history division.

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Through its annual convention regional conferences, committees, awards, speakers and publications, members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society.

[source: The American Journalism Historians Association Press Release]

For additional info contact Vanessa Murphree at 251.455.3455 or visit

permalink | Bookmark and Share

Link directly to this Scripps Note
Posted by Bob Stewart on 05.14.2010 @ 03:23:42